READ Æ ueen's Gambit

Elizabeth Fremantle ☆ 1 READ

READ Æ ueen's Gambit » ✸ [BOOKS] ✬ ueen's Gambit By Elizabeth Fremantle ❂ – Gwairsoft.co.uk Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel ueen's Gambit My name is Katherine ParrI'm 31 years old and already twice widowedI'm in love with a man I can't have and am Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Tlived three of them including Henry VIII Rich in atmosphere and period detail and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot it tells the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time If you loved Wolf Hall The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors then Elizabeth Fremantle's ueen's Gambit is the book for y. This novel is an exceptional debut that introduces the reader to a Katherine Parr who is than others have written her to be She is a pious nurse to older husbands but that is far from all there is to ueen Katherine Fremantle has created a multi dimensional character and bravely filled in historical gaps to create a gripping storyI especially enjoyed the development of Katherine's faith as a reformer It is easy for us with almost 500 years of separation to categorize historical figures into Catholic and Reformist and not appreciate the nuances and waverings that occur in each person's personal beliefs In Katherine's story we see her fire for reform burn brightly become doused by physical fear and come under the attack of doubt This realistic portrayal of faith formed a secret window into Katherine's inner heart without becoming preachy I was only disappointed that the publication of Lamentations of a Sinner was overshadowed by her rekindled romance with SeymourKatherine's story is told in parallel with her servant Dot's allowing readers to view both sides of the Tudor court Through Dot's eyes we see the endless toil that is reuired to provide a glittering backdrop to those who are so far above them Dot's own lovestory is as captivating but pure than Katherine'sThe most significant negative that I see voiced about this novel is the way that Fremantle chooses to fill in some historical gaps Two that are very near the beginning of the book and can therefore be shared without being spoilers are that Katherine was raped resulting the the birth of a dead baby during the Pilgrimage of Grace and that Katherine gave her second husband John Neville a lethal dose of painkiller to end his suffering There are other literary liberties taken that may not have been as harshly judged if they were carefully revealed in Fremantle's author's note In my opinion these elements of the story were bold and uniue Since there is no way of knowing if they are true I think it is enough that the author has made them plausible to her version of eventsTudor dress food castles and landscape are all expertly recreated making it easy to imagine the details of Katherine's life Thomas Seymour is written just as I have imagined him handsome desirable and completely manipulative Katherine's drawn out obsession with him is the only part of this book that I could have done with less of The beginning and end of this novel are fluffy romantic bookends to the captivating story of England's Reform ueen

CHARACTERS Ð GWAIRSOFT.CO.UK ☆ Elizabeth Fremantle

Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel ueen's Gambit My name is Katherine ParrI'm years old and already twice widowedI'm in love with a man I can't have and am about to wed a man no one would want for my husband to be is none other than Henry VIII who has already beheaded two wives cast aside two and watched one die in childbi. I was looking so forward to reading this book but alas it turned out to be a big disappointment especially after reading so many great reviews about it tooWith book in hand I had retired for the evening snuggling up in bed anticipating a little time travel back to the Tudor era and the court of King Henry the 8th Nothing better than playing Renaissance instrumental music in the background to help achieve this goal either so I was prepared to enter the world of ueen Katherine Parr take me away Elizabeth FreemantleAh yes I was immediately delighted by the author's knowledge of all things Tudor and felt myself slipping away all earthly cares forgottenSuddenly I'm jerked savagely out of my reverie as my natural high is shatteredWhat HoWhat is going on with Katherine Parr and why is she talking and behaving as a liberal humanist about 500 years too soonCould this talented author be so lacking in imagination that she's unable to create a ueen Katherine true to Tudor times but instead made Katie a Renaissance version of her own selfa politically correct Katherine Parr at that Who does Elizabeth Freemantle think she is Ken FollettI'll never know the answer to that uestion as I tossed the book into the dust binOh well there's still those wonderful older authors of historical fiction to return to once again and they have yet to let me downSo let me restart the Renaissance music and try again with a different author

REVIEW ueen's Gambit

ueen's GambitRthWhat will become of me once I'm wearing his ring and become ueen of EnglandThey say that the sharpest blades are sheathed in the softest pouchesOnly time will tell what I am really made ofFor fans of Hilary Mantel Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel ueen's Gambit is a riveting account of the Tudor ueen who married four men and ou. I found this novel to be a bit of a mixed bag with parts that I genuinely enjoyed but other parts I found bewildering or irritating Overall I have to say I thought it was well written Competent use of language smooth flowing text In fact the one tiny annoyance was “Sister Anne” I immediately grasped that Fremantle did this to make sure Katherine’s sister was distinct from all the other Annes running around – Anne Stanhope Anne Basset and the occasionally referenced Anne Boleyn – but it wasn’t necessary with the others referred to with their surname constantly I therefore knew that just plain “Anne” was Katherine’s sister no need to spell it out I did however like Fremantle’s attention to detail painting a full picture without getting bogged down too much although she gets a few small points wrongI have to say I did like the character of Katherine herself; pretty important as she’s the main character Her calm maturity her intelligence and wisdom – this all fit with my knowledge of the real life Kateryn Parr and so I felt her very believable Perhaps the only blip was how uickly and completely she falls in love with Thomas Seymour; I would’ve liked to have seen that drawn out developed plausibly But then again we know that Kateryn did indeed find herself in a marriage of uestionable wisdom with Thomas Seymour so perhaps I have no place complaining about a little foolishness when it’s supported by history I also rather liked the character of Huicke his own uiet intelligence and common senseI didn’t like the character of Dot She did serve a good purpose in the story at times allowing the reader to witness events that Katherine herself couldn’t be a part of so from that point of view she was necessary and contrasting her life with that of Katherine was also pretty interesting; but I just didn’t like Dot’s character I didn’t like how meek she was how unambitious or how she always put herself down and presumed that she was just “simple” and couldn’t understand the things her social betters talked about And when William Savage view spoilerDot’s lover admits that he didn’t want to tell Dot that he was already married because he was afraid she wouldn’t want to have anything to do with him I wanted to take Dot by the shoulders and shake her William spins it as him being married in an arranged match to someone he barely sees and Dot forgives him and suddenly everything’s okay again But it isn’t okay Whether or not he’s in love with his wife the man lied about his marital status in order to keep Dot around him and in his bed That’s unacceptable Deception emotional manipulation abuse of trust that’s isn’t all magically justified if the other person does it because they “love” you and claim they only wanted to hold on to you hide spoiler