Something Like Gravity Mobi ↠ 391 pages ´ Gwairsoft

Amber Smith ☆ Something Like Gravity Ebook

Something Like Gravity Mobi ↠ 391 pages ´ Gwairsoft ¸ ❮Reading❯ ➶ Something Like Gravity ➮ Author Amber Smith – Gwairsoft.co.uk For fans of Love Simon and Eleanor and Park a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love For fans of Love Simon and Eleanor and Park a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time and how first love changes us all from New York Times bestselling author Amber SmithChris and Maia aren’t off to a great startA near fatal car accident first brings them If this book sounds interesting to you I highly recommend reading Tobly McSmith's Stay Gold It has a similar set up to this novel but is written by a trans author plus I thought it was a pretty good readReviewAs a person who knows a lot though not everything about transitioning passing and dysphoria I noted that there were a lot of things related to the character Chris that didn’t make much senseFor example it’s never clearly stated whether or not Chris has started hormones so I attempted to piece together that puzzle myself and it still doesn’t make sense Chris says that a year ago his voice was “high and light” yet later he says he has unawarely been talking low for years “before the hormones” Chris also mentions that his dad signed the “stupid paperwork” for him to start on hormones If Chris had started hormones his body would be going through many changes that are never mentioned in this book We never hear about Chris going to get t shots or administering them to himself When he goes to live with his aunt there is no discussion of where Chris was going to pick up his prescription or get his shots Maybe this depends on the state but also I’m fairly certain you can’t just have your parents sign some papers to start hormones You can’t just sign papers and bing bang boom get that good good boy juice Making it seem that way makes Chris’ transition seem so much easier than it actually would be My second confusion is that Chris’ binder is mentioned and is basically the only part of his transition ever blatantly discussed But Chris runs A lot We’re to assume that Chris binds all the time when outside or otherwise he wouldn’t pass He says once that as he runs his chest is aching the pressure in his ribs almost becoming too much AND HE KEEPS GOING If he is binding he is doing irreversible damage to his chest and ribs If he truly had watched so many videos about transitioning I’d hope he’d learned that you shouldn’t bind when exercising especially when you begin to feel pain in your ribs This one is my biggest problem There is a scene spoilers where Maia is sitting on Chris’ balcony and watches him undress which wouldn’t be okay even if Chris was cis As soon as I realized what was happening I become anxious my heart rate increasing and a very specific feeling of fear and disgust taking over my entire body Maia watches Chris take off his binder and ogles at his breasts She feels no sympathy for Chris at that moment or after We are supposed to feel bad for Maia how hard it must be for her to know that Chris is trans and what a saint she when she decides his identity doesn’t change her feelings This is why cis authors shouldn’t write trans characters if this book was written by a genderueer author not only would this scene not be included but if it was Chris would be given sympathy and Maia would have to do something than send Chris an inspiration photo for him to forgive herThose were the main complaints so here’s the lightning round Chris says he’s scared of becoming “soft and curvy” I understand that from a dysphoric perspective but it was unneeded and purveyed the idea prevalent in the transmasculine community that transmasc people need to be muscley and skinny and that being chubbyfat is feminine unwanted and lazy The sex scene was awkward and I would rather have cis people just not have sex scenes with trans kids in their books It’s creepy period Maia was possessive of Chris and it never really was addressed and he had very little agency and it was gross I wouldn’t have read Something Like Gravity if not for the trans “representation” and it was that “representation” that made me so frustrated with this book There were just certain scenes and details that proved the author’s unfamiliarity with the reality of being trans not the feelingemotion but the facts of passing and transitioning Some stuff just felt really unneeded and gross especially because essentially there were parts where a cis woman was describing a body very similar to my own in creepy ways I wouldn’t recommend Something Like Gravity and would especially deter trans kids from reading it This word is overused but there were a lot of truly triggering scenes that were just stressful and unneeded If a cis person is going to include a trans person in their book that’s wonderful but I would rather they don't try and tackle topics that involve trauma details about the kid’s bodygenitals or anything in that personal vein Rating twofive

Epub Ë Something Like Gravity ☆ Amber Smith

Together and their next encounters don’t fare much better Chris’s good intentions backfire Maia’s temper gets the best of herBut they’re neighbors at least for the summer and despite their best efforts they just can’t seem to stay away from each otherThe path forward isn’t easy Chris has c Many thanks to Simon Schuster Children's Books for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest reviewAfter reading some reviews amazing ones by the way that you can check out here and here I have decided that I won't be picking this one upAs a cisgender guy I don't have any experience of what it's like to be a transgender person Because of that I want to read books that accurately represent that community which is why I'm passing on this Thanks Simon Schuster for the ARC I'm sorry to have to pass on it Happy reading and stay safe everyone3 Happy Birthday to Something Like Gravity| Goodreads | Blog | Pinterest | LinkedIn | YouTube | Instagram

Book Something Like Gravity

Something Like GravityOme out as transgender but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her Falling in love was the last thing on either of their mindsBut would it be so bad if it happened anywa i got about 20% into this one before deciding to dnf definitely not a bad book but i didn't connect with either of the main characters and i definitely don't care about their relationship