MOBI ✓ DOC No Way Down Life and Death on K2 9780061834790 FREE

KINDLE ´ No Way Down Life and Death on K2 Û Graham Bowley

No Way Down Life and Death on K2Cond to Everest in height but second to no peak in terms of danger From tragic deaths to unbelievable stories of heroism and survival No Way Down is an amazing feat Way Down Life PDFEPUB #195 of storytelling and adventure writing and in the words of explorer and author Sir Ranulph Fiennes “the closest you can come Way Down Life and Death PDFEPUB or to being on the summit of K on that fateful day” Like everyone else who read Krakauer's Into Thin Air I've been obsessed ever since with tales of high altitude climbing particularly when that climbing goes wrong This book is about the 2008 disaster on K2 which left 11 climbers dead One climber saw her husband die in an avalanche that barely missed her and another climber; another one saved a fellow Sherpa who has lost his ice axe only to lose his cousin the following day during a separate rescue mission This story shares some similarity to the 1996 Everest story overcrowding on summit day miscommunication uestionable decisions incredible acts of heroism and selfishness and a natural disaster that left many climbers stuck after sundown in the Death Zone the area above 26000 feet Unlike Krakauer's book Bowley a reporter for the New York Times wasn't there during the event Instead he interviewed most of the participants after the fact and tries painstakingly to piece the narrative together Still the confusion as to what exactly happened remains much the same as when Krakauer went through this exercise Altitude sickness and physical exhaustion impairs memories no one wants to look bad people get separated and just don't know what happened to their climbing partner and so on His epilogue is interesting and shouldn't be skipped as he goes into the details of how he secured interviews with some of those climbers his impressions of them and his thoughts on the remaining uestions and controversies surrounding the event Having read several books about Everest at this point I find it's interesting to read about K2 While the mountain isn't as tall it is widely acknowledged to be a difficult technical and all around dangerous climb While stats vary around 1 person dies for every 4 who summit If this story interests you there is also a movie called The Summit currently streaming on Netflix in the US It mixes interviews pictures and footage filmed by someone in Camp Four during this event pretty seamlessly with re enactments It'll help you put faces and locations to the names in this book

DOC No Way Down Life and Death on K2

MOBI ✓ DOC No Way Down Life and Death on K2 9780061834790 FREE ä [Reading] ➾ No Way Down Life and Death on K2 Author Graham Bowley – Gwairsoft.co.uk “No Way Down is both a gripping read and a clear eyed investigation of the hubris politics and bad luck that brought on one of the worst disasters in “No Way Down is both Down Life PDFEPUB #188 a gripping read and a clear eyed investigation of the hubris politics and bad luck that brought on one of the worst disasters in modern mountaineering history” Michael Kodas author of High Crimes The Fate of Everest in an Age of Greed “Graham Bowley’s No Way Down does a great job of putting you on the mountain It is a refreshingly unadorned accoun EDIT I have since read One Mountain Thousand Summits which I find to be a detailed and accurate portrayal of the 2008 K2 disaster If you have time to only read one book read that oneNo Way Down is probably the single most detailed account of the 2008 K2 disaster in which 11 people died on the mountain Graham Bowley writer for the New York Times does an admirable job collecting interviews from survivors and teammates and putting together an easily digestible and gripping narrative I read this book in a day that makes sense of what happened during that August week This reads very much like an extended New York Times Magazine piece with all its positives and negatives Since the writer is a journalist and not a mountaineer or historian as is normal there are a couple things that stand out in this book The first is that the writing is much better than a typical mountaineering book Cuz let's face it even thought this is written like an NYT mag piece traditional mountaineering writing sucks So it's nice to read something by someone who can actually writeThe second is that this book packs a lot of information It's very clear from the story that Bowley spent a lot of time interviewing previously taciturn climbers and getting them to relay their stories Because of this previously unknown details about the lives and deaths of the mountaineers emerge in this book Typical mountaineering books either out of sense of moutaineering propriety or something else remove a lot of detail that would actually be helpful to the reader I think Bowley does well to depict gruesome events on the mountain while still being respectful to the family and friends of the deadBeing a journalist and not a mountaineer however has hindered Graham Bowley from making this a great book instead of merely an enjoyable one My main problem with the book is that Bowley is unable to judge the events on the mountain Unlike mountaineerswriters Jon Krakauer or Ed Viesturs Bowley merely relates the events on the mountain without being able to determine whether or not those actions were safe stupid or otherwise Into Thin Air would not have the moral sting had not Jon Krakauer been so pissed at mistakes made on Everest which seem so innocuous to a non climber's eye and I would have never appreciated Fritz Wiessner's failed 1939 K2 summit attempt had not Ed Viesturs in K2 Life and Death on the World's Second Highest Mountain told me how Wiessner attempted a much technically demanding section in order to sidestep the less demanding but possibly dangerous section which ended up killing 8 climbers in 2008 The problem is that high altitude mountaineering HAM is such an alien sport that we don't have the mental tools to independently judge actions on the mountain Unfortunately neither does BowleyRelated to this point is that the writer doesn't have sufficient context to write authoritatively on the subject In the epi epilogue Bowley lists background reading he did for writing the book To his credit Graham read a LOT of books on K2 and seems to have a good sense of the history of K2 In not reading HAM stories on other mountains such as Annapurna Nanga Parbat or Everest Bowley I feel fails to convey how K2 compares with other 8000m peaks and how truly difficult an ascent of K2 actually isMy final problem with No Way Down is that it attempts to fit a journalistic single narrative onto events that did not occur so neatly Bowley himself mentions how gathering the information was a postmodern mess since many of the survivors related different and often clashing stories Much of this seems to stem from the effects of hypoxia on the brain above 25000ft which from numerous stories indicates that the lack of oxygen plays tricks on the brain Krakauer misremembers who he saw descending to him at a campsite during the 1996 Everest disaster causing controversy in the climbing community Reinhold Messner widely considered the best high altitude climber ever remembers seeing his dead brother during his climbs Confortola one of the climbers in this book thinks he sees a non existent snow leopard I think but could have seen this somewhere else With such poor high altitude memory I find it hard to say that the journalist approach is the best way to recount a high altitude mountain climbing story In fact I would say that postmodern writers have the tools to make a great book Any fiction writers willing to take a shot

Graham Bowley Û No Way Down Life and Death on K2 KINDLE

T of the true brutality of climbing K where heroes emerge and egos are stripped No Way Kindle down and the only thing achieving immortality is the cold ruthless mountain” Norman Ollestad author of Crazy for the StormIn the tradition of Into Thin Air and Touching the Void No Way Down by New York Times reporter Graham Bowley is the harrowing account of the worst mountain climbing disaster on K se The hour by hour story of the infamous K2 expedition in 2008 that claimed the lives of eleven climbers The author interviewed many of the survivors and pieced together the most likely series of events from their accounts although in spots his delving into minds of those who died while probably as accurate as one could be still remain speculative Nevertheless there are segments of nail biting suspenseAfter having waited several months into the very short summer climbing season on K2 the second highest mountain in the world and considered one of the most difficult and dangerous several teams of climbers attempted a summit Despite delays along the way that should have had them postpone their climb toward the top many continued on The most dangerous part of each climb is the return trip when climbers are exhausted and often suffering the effects of high altitude A glossary of names might have been helpful and there were passages that felt as if they had been amateurishly translated from another language If you don’t want to read a whole book about the incidents you might want to just look at the Wikipedia entry which is uite detailed and good excellent addition to mountain climbing literature